MPI Tutorial     Tutorials     Recommended Books     About

Introduction to Groups and Communicators

Author: Wesley Bland

在以前的教程中,我们使用了通讯器 MPI_COMM_WORLD。 对于简单的程序,这已经足够了,因为我们的进程数量相对较少,并且通常要么一次要与其中之一对话,要么一次要与所有对话。 当程序规模开始变大时,这变得不那么实用了,我们可能只想一次与几个进程进行对话。 在本次教程中,我们将展示如何创建新的通讯器,以便一次与原始线程组的子集进行沟通。

注意- 本站点的所有代码都在 GitHub 上。本教程的代码在 tutorials/introduction-to-groups-and-communicators/code 目录下。

通讯器概述

正如我们在学习集体例程时所看到的那样,MPI 允许您立即与通讯器中的所有进程进行对话,以执行诸如使用 MPI_Scatter 将数据从一个进程分发到多个进程或使用 MPI_Reduce 执行数据归约的操作。 但是,到目前为止,我们仅使用了默认的通讯器 MPI_COMM_WORLD

对于简单的应用程序,使用 MPI_COMM_WORLD 进行所有操作并不罕见,但是对于更复杂的用例,拥有更多的通讯器可能会有所帮助。 例如,如果您想对网格中进程的子集执行计算。 例如,每一行中的所有进程都可能希望对一个值求和。 这将是第一个也是最常见的用于创建新的通讯器的函数:

MPI_Comm_split(
	MPI_Comm comm,
	int color,
	int key,
	MPI_Comm* newcomm)

顾名思义,MPI_Comm_split 通过基于输入值 colorkey 将通讯器“拆分”为一组子通讯器来创建新的通讯器。 在这里需要注意的是,原始的通讯器并没有消失,但是在每个进程中都会创建一个新的通讯器。 第一个参数 comm 是通讯器,它将用作新通讯器的基础。 这可能是 MPI_COMM_WORLD,但也可能是其他任何通讯器。 第二个参数 color 确定每个进程将属于哪个新的通讯器。 为 color 传递相同值的所有进程都分配给同一通讯器。 如果 colorMPI_UNDEFINED,则该进程将不包含在任何新的通讯器中。 第三个参数 key 确定每个新通讯器中的顺序(秩)。 传递 key 最小值的进程将为 0,下一个最小值将为 1,依此类推。 如果存在平局,则在原始通讯器中秩较低的进程将是第一位。 最后一个参数 newcomm 是 MPI 如何将新的通讯器返回给用户。

使用多个通讯器的示例

现在,让我们看一个简单的示例,在该示例中,我们尝试将单个全局通讯器拆分为一组较小的通讯器。 在此示例中,我们将想象我们已经在逻辑上将原始通讯器布局为共 16 个进程的 4x4 网格,并且希望按行划分网格。 为此,每一行将获得自己的颜色(参数 color)。 在下图中,您可以看到左图具有相同颜色的每组进程如何最终变成右图的自己的通讯器。

MPI_Comm_split example

让我们看一下代码。

// 获取原始通讯器的秩和大小
int world_rank, world_size;
MPI_Comm_rank(MPI_COMM_WORLD, &world_rank);
MPI_Comm_size(MPI_COMM_WORLD, &world_size);

int color = world_rank / 4; // 根据行确定颜色

// 根据颜色拆分通讯器,然后调用
// 利用原始秩
MPI_Comm row_comm;
MPI_Comm_split(MPI_COMM_WORLD, color, world_rank, &row_comm);

int row_rank, row_size;
MPI_Comm_rank(row_comm, &row_rank);
MPI_Comm_size(row_comm, &row_size);

printf("WORLD RANK/SIZE: %d/%d \t ROW RANK/SIZE: %d/%d\n",
	world_rank, world_size, row_rank, row_size);

MPI_Comm_free(&row_comm);

前几行获得原始通讯器 MPI_COMM_WORLD 的秩和大小。 下一行执行确定局部进程 color 的重要操作。 请记住,color 决定了拆分后该进程所属的通讯器。 接下来,我们将看到所有重要的拆分操作。 这里的新事物是,我们使用原始秩(world_rank)作为拆分操作的 key。 由于我们希望新通讯器中的所有进程与原始通讯器中的所有进程处于相同的顺序,因此在这里使用原始等级值最有意义,因为它已经正确地排序了。 之后,我们将打印出新的等级和大小以确保其有效。 您的输出应如下所示:

WORLD RANK/SIZE: 0/16 	 ROW RANK/SIZE: 0/4
WORLD RANK/SIZE: 1/16 	 ROW RANK/SIZE: 1/4
WORLD RANK/SIZE: 2/16 	 ROW RANK/SIZE: 2/4
WORLD RANK/SIZE: 3/16 	 ROW RANK/SIZE: 3/4
WORLD RANK/SIZE: 4/16 	 ROW RANK/SIZE: 0/4
WORLD RANK/SIZE: 5/16 	 ROW RANK/SIZE: 1/4
WORLD RANK/SIZE: 6/16 	 ROW RANK/SIZE: 2/4
WORLD RANK/SIZE: 7/16 	 ROW RANK/SIZE: 3/4
WORLD RANK/SIZE: 8/16 	 ROW RANK/SIZE: 0/4
WORLD RANK/SIZE: 9/16 	 ROW RANK/SIZE: 1/4
WORLD RANK/SIZE: 10/16 	 ROW RANK/SIZE: 2/4
WORLD RANK/SIZE: 11/16 	 ROW RANK/SIZE: 3/4
WORLD RANK/SIZE: 12/16 	 ROW RANK/SIZE: 0/4
WORLD RANK/SIZE: 13/16 	 ROW RANK/SIZE: 1/4
WORLD RANK/SIZE: 14/16 	 ROW RANK/SIZE: 2/4
WORLD RANK/SIZE: 15/16 	 ROW RANK/SIZE: 3/4

如果您的顺序不正确,请不要惊慌。 当您在 MPI 程序中显示内容时,每个进程都必须将其输出发回启动 MPI 作业的位置,然后才能将其打印到屏幕上。 这往往意味着排序变得混乱,因为您永远无法假设仅以特定的秩顺序打印内容,即输出结果实际上将按照您期望的顺序结束,但是显示不是。 只是在这里重新排列输出内容,以至看起来不错。

最后,我们使用 MPI_Comm_free 释放通讯器。 这似乎不是一个重要的步骤,但与在其他任何程序中使用完内存后释放内存一样重要。 当不再使用 MPI 对象时,应将其释放,以便以后重用。 MPI 一次可以创建的对象数量有限,如果 MPI 用完了可分配对象,则不释放对象可能会导致运行时错误。

其他通讯器创建函数

尽管 MPI_Comm_split 是最常见的通讯器创建函数,但还有许多其他函数。 MPI_Comm_dup 是最基本的,它创建了一个通讯器的副本。 似乎存在一个仅创建副本的函数似乎很奇怪,但这对于使用库执行特殊函数的应用(例如数学库)非常有用。 在这类应用中,重要的是用户代码和库代码不要互相干扰。 为了避免这种情况,每个应用程序应该做的第一件事是创建 MPI_COMM_WORLD 的副本,这将避免其他使用 MPI_COMM_WORLD 的库的问题。 库本身也应该复制 MPI_COMM_WORLD 以避免相同的问题。

另一个功能是 MPI_Comm_create。 乍一看,此功能与 MPI_Comm_create_group 非常相似。 其原型几乎相同:

MPI_Comm_create(
	MPI_Comm comm,
	MPI_Group group,
    MPI_Comm* newcomm)

然而,主要区别(除了缺少 tag 参数之外)是,MPI_Comm_create_group 仅是 group 中包含的一组进程的集合,而 MPI_Comm_createcomm 中每个进程的集合。 当通讯器的规模很大时,这是一个重要的区别。 如果尝试在运行 1,000,000 个进程时创建 MPI_COMM_WORLD 的子集,则重要的是使用尽可能少的进程来执行该操作,因为大型集的开销会变得非常昂贵。

通讯器还有其他一些更高级的功能,我们在这里不介绍,例如内部通讯器与内部通讯器之间的差异以及其他高级通讯器创建功能。 这些仅用于非常特殊的应用,以后的教程中可能会介绍这些应用程序。

组的概述

尽管 MPI_Comm_split 是创建新通讯器的最简单的方法,但并非唯一的方法。 创建通讯器有更灵活的方法,但是它们使用一种新的 MPI 对象 MPI_Group。 在详细讨论组之前,让我们再回顾一下通讯器的实际含义。 在内部,MPI 必须(除其他事项外)保持通讯器的两个主要部分,即区分一个通讯器与另一个通讯器的上下文(或 ID)以及该通讯器包含的一组进程。 The context is what prevents an operation on one communicator from matching with a similar operation on another communicator. 上下文阻止了与一个通讯器上的操作匹配的另一通讯器上的类似操作。 MPI 在内部为每个通讯器保留一个 ID,以防止混淆。 组更易于理解,因为它只是通讯器中所有进程的集合。 对于 MPI_COMM_WORLD,这是由 mpiexec 启动的所有进程。 对于其他通讯器,组将有所不同。 在上面的示例代码中,组是所有以相同的 color 传参给 MPI_Comm_split 的进程。

MPI 使用通常起作用集合理论的相同方式来使用这些组。 您不必熟悉所有的集合理论即可理解 MPI,但是了解两个操作的含义会有所帮助。 首先,会从其他两个集合中创建一个新的(可能)更大的集合。 新集合包括前两个集合的所有成员(无重复)。 其次,会从其他两个集合中创建一个新的(可能)更小的集合。 新集合包括两个原始集合中都存在的所有成员。 您可以在下面以图形方式查看这两个操作的示例。 随后,我们将使用适用于 MPI 的术语“组”(groups),而非“集合“(sets)。

Group Operation Examples

在第一个示例中,两个组 {0,1,2,3}{2,3,4,5} 的并集是 {0,1,2,3,4,5},因为这些项中的每一个都出现在组中。 在第二个示例中,两个组 {0,1,2,3}{2,3,4,5} 的交集为 {2,3},因为每个组中同时仅出现那些项。

Using MPI groups

现在,我们了解了组工作原理的基础,让我们看看如何将其应用于 MPI 操作。 在 MPI 中,很容易通过 API 调用 MPI_Comm_group 来获取通讯器中的进程组。

MPI_Comm_group(
	MPI_Comm comm,
	MPI_Group* group)

如上所述,通讯器包含一个上下文或 ID,以及一个组。 调用 MPI_Comm_group 会得到对该组对象的引用。 组对象的工作方式与通讯器对象相同,不同之处在于您不能使用它与其他秩进行通信(因为它没有附加上下文)。 您仍然可以获取组的秩和大小(分别为 MPI_Group_rankMPI_Group_size)。 但是,组特有的功能而通讯器无法完成的工作是可以使用组在本地构建新的组。 在此记住本地操作和远程操作之间的区别很重要。 远程操作涉及与其他秩的通信,而本地操作则没有。 创建新的通讯器是一项远程操作,因为所有进程都需要决定相同的上下文和组,而在本地创建组是因为它不用于通信,因此每个进程不需要具有相同的上下文。 您可以随意操作一个组,而无需执行任何通信。

一旦有一个或两个组,对它们执行操作就很简单。 看起来像这样:

MPI_Group_union(
	MPI_Group group1,
	MPI_Group group2,
	MPI_Group* newgroup)

您可能会猜到看起来像这样:

MPI_Group_intersection(
	MPI_Group group1,
	MPI_Group group2,
	MPI_Group* newgroup)

在这两种情况下,操作均在 group1group2 上执行,结果存储在 newgroup 中。

MPI 中有许多关于组的用法。 您可以比较组以查看它们是否相同,从另一个组中减去一个组,从组中排除特定秩,或使用一个组将一个组的秩转换为另一组。 但是,MPI 中可能是最有用的一个函数是 MPI_Comm_create_group。 这是一个用于创建新通讯器的函数,但无需像 MPI_Comm_split 之类那样需要进行计算以决定组成,该函数将使用一个 MPI_Group 对象并创建一个与组具有相同进程的新通讯器。

MPI_Comm_create_group(
	MPI_Comm comm,
	MPI_Group group,
	int tag,
	MPI_Comm* newcomm)

Example of using groups

让我们看一下使用组的简单示例。 在这里,我们将使用另一个函数,该函数允许您选择组中的特定秩并构建为新组,即 MPI_Group_incl

MPI_Group_incl(
	MPI_Group group,
	int n,
	const int ranks[],
	MPI_Group* newgroup)

该函数中,newgroup 将包含 group 中的秩存在于 ranks 数组中的 n 个进程。 想看看它是如何工作的? 让我们尝试创建一个包含来自 MPI_COMM_WORLD 的主要秩的通讯器。

// 获取原始通讯器的等级和大小
int world_rank, world_size;
MPI_Comm_rank(MPI_COMM_WORLD, &world_rank);
MPI_Comm_size(MPI_COMM_WORLD, &world_size);

// 获取 MPI_COMM_WORLD 中的进程组
MPI_Group world_group;
MPI_Comm_group(MPI_COMM_WORLD, &world_group);

int n = 7;
const int ranks[7] = {1, 2, 3, 5, 7, 11, 13};

// 构造一个包含 world_group 中所有主要秩的组
MPI_Group prime_group;
MPI_Group_incl(world_group, 7, ranks, &prime_group);

// 根据组创建一个新的通讯器
MPI_Comm prime_comm;
MPI_Comm_create_group(MPI_COMM_WORLD, prime_group, 0, &prime_comm);

int prime_rank = -1, prime_size = -1;
// 如果此秩不在新的通讯器中,则为
// MPI_COMM_NULL。使用 MPI_COMM_NULL 作为 MPI_Comm_rank 或
// MPI_Comm_size 的错误
if (MPI_COMM_NULL != prime_comm) {
	MPI_Comm_rank(prime_comm, &prime_rank);
	MPI_Comm_size(prime_comm, &prime_size);
}

printf("WORLD RANK/SIZE: %d/%d \t PRIME RANK/SIZE: %d/%d\n",
	world_rank, world_size, prime_rank, prime_size);

MPI_Group_free(&world_group);
MPI_Group_free(&prime_group);
MPI_Comm_free(&prime_comm);

在此示例中,我们通过仅选择 MPI_COMM_WORLD 中的主要秩来构建通讯器。 这是通过 MPI_Group_incl 完成的,并将结果存储在 prime_group 中。 接下来,我们将该组传递给 MPI_Comm_create_group 以创建 prime_comm。 At the end, we have to be careful to not use prime_comm on processes which don’t have it, therefore we check to ensure that the communicator is not MPI_COMM_NULL, which is returned from MPI_Comm_create_group on the ranks not included in ranks. 最后,我们必须小心不要在没有 prime_comm 的进程上使用 prime_comm,因此我们要检查以确保通讯器不是 MPI_COMM_NULL 状态 —— 不在 ranks 中而从 MPI_Comm_create_group 返回的结果。

Want to contribute?

This site is hosted entirely on GitHub. This site is no longer being actively contributed to by the original author (Wes Kendall), but it was placed on GitHub in the hopes that others would write high-quality MPI tutorials. Click here for more information about how you can contribute.

MPI Tutorial     Tutorials     Recommended Books     About

Introduction to Groups and Communicators

Author: Wesley Bland

In all previous tutorials, we have used the communicator MPI_COMM_WORLD. For simple applications, this is sufficient as we have a relatively small number of processes and we usually either want to talk to one of them at a time or all of them at a time. When applications start to get bigger, this becomes less practical and we may only want to talk to a few processes at once. In this lesson, we show how to create new communicators to communicate with a subset of the original group of processes at once.

Note - All of the code for this site is on GitHub. This tutorial's code is under tutorials/introduction-to-groups-and-communicators/code.

Overview of communicators

As we have seen when learning about collective routines, MPI allows you to talk to all processes in a communicator at once to do things like distribute data from one process to many processes using MPI_Scatter or perform a data reduction using MPI_Reduce. However, up to now, we have only used the default communicator, MPI_COMM_WORLD.

For simple applications, it's not unusual to do everything using MPI_COMM_WORLD, but for more complex use cases, it might be helpful to have more communicators. An example might be if you wanted to perform calculations on a subset of the processes in a grid. For instance, all processes in each row might want to sum a value. This brings us to the first and most common function used to create new communicators:

MPI_Comm_split(
    MPI_Comm comm,
    int color,
    int key,
    MPI_Comm* newcomm)

As the name implies, MPI_Comm_split creates new communicators by "splitting" a communicator into a group of sub-communicators based on the input values color and key. It's important to note here that the original communicator doesn't go away, but a new communicator is created on each process. The first argument, comm, is the communicator that will be used as the basis for the new communicators. This could be MPI_COMM_WORLD, but it could be any other communicator as well. The second argument, color, determines to which new communicator each processes will belong. All processes which pass in the same value for color are assigned to the same communicator. If the color is MPI_UNDEFINED, that process won't be included in any of the new communicators. The third argument, key, determines the ordering (rank) within each new communicator. The process which passes in the smallest value for color will be rank 0, the next smallest will be rank 1, and so on. If there is a tie, the process that had the lower rank in the original communicator will be first. The final argument, newcomm is how MPI returns the new communicator back to the user.

Example of using multiple communicators

Now let's look at a simple example where we attempt to split a single global communicator into a set of smaller communicators. In this example, we'll imagine that we've logically laid out our original communicator into a 4x4 grid of 16 processes and we want to divide the grid by row. To do this, each row will get its own color. In the image below, you can see how each group of processes with the same color on the left ends up in its own communicator on the right.

MPI_Comm_split example

Let's look at the code for this.

// Get the rank and size in the original communicator
int world_rank, world_size;
MPI_Comm_rank(MPI_COMM_WORLD, &world_rank);
MPI_Comm_size(MPI_COMM_WORLD, &world_size);

int color = world_rank / 4; // Determine color based on row

// Split the communicator based on the color and use the
// original rank for ordering
MPI_Comm row_comm;
MPI_Comm_split(MPI_COMM_WORLD, color, world_rank, &row_comm);

int row_rank, row_size;
MPI_Comm_rank(row_comm, &row_rank);
MPI_Comm_size(row_comm, &row_size);

printf("WORLD RANK/SIZE: %d/%d \t ROW RANK/SIZE: %d/%d\n",
    world_rank, world_size, row_rank, row_size);

MPI_Comm_free(&row_comm);

The first few lines get the rank and size for the original communicator, MPI_COMM_WORLD. The next line does the important operation of determining the "color" of the local process. Remember that color decides to which communicator the process will belong after the split. Next, we see the all important split operation. The new thing here is that we're using the orignal rank (world_rank) as the key for the split operation. Since we want all of the processes in the new communicator to be in the same order that they were in the original communicator, using the original rank value makes the most sense here as it will already be ordered correctly. After that, we print out the new rank and size just to make sure it works. Your output should look something like this:

WORLD RANK/SIZE: 0/16    ROW RANK/SIZE: 0/4
WORLD RANK/SIZE: 1/16    ROW RANK/SIZE: 1/4
WORLD RANK/SIZE: 2/16    ROW RANK/SIZE: 2/4
WORLD RANK/SIZE: 3/16    ROW RANK/SIZE: 3/4
WORLD RANK/SIZE: 4/16    ROW RANK/SIZE: 0/4
WORLD RANK/SIZE: 5/16    ROW RANK/SIZE: 1/4
WORLD RANK/SIZE: 6/16    ROW RANK/SIZE: 2/4
WORLD RANK/SIZE: 7/16    ROW RANK/SIZE: 3/4
WORLD RANK/SIZE: 8/16    ROW RANK/SIZE: 0/4
WORLD RANK/SIZE: 9/16    ROW RANK/SIZE: 1/4
WORLD RANK/SIZE: 10/16   ROW RANK/SIZE: 2/4
WORLD RANK/SIZE: 11/16   ROW RANK/SIZE: 3/4
WORLD RANK/SIZE: 12/16   ROW RANK/SIZE: 0/4
WORLD RANK/SIZE: 13/16   ROW RANK/SIZE: 1/4
WORLD RANK/SIZE: 14/16   ROW RANK/SIZE: 2/4
WORLD RANK/SIZE: 15/16   ROW RANK/SIZE: 3/4

Don't be alarmed if yours isn't in the right order. When you print things out in an MPI program, each process has to send its output back to the place where you launched your MPI job before it can be printed to the screen. This tends to mean that the ordering gets jumbled so you can't ever assume that just because you print things in a specific rank order, that the output will actually end up in the same order you expect. The output was just rearranged here to look nice.

Finally, we free the communicator with MPI_Comm_free. This seems like it's not an important step, but it's just as important as freeing your memory when you're done with it in any other program. When an MPI object will no longer be used, it should be freed so it can be reused later. MPI has a limited number of objects that it can create at a time and not freeing your objects could result in a runtime error if MPI runs out of allocatable objects.

Other communicator creation functions

While MPI_Comm_split is the most common communicator creation function, there are many others. MPI_Comm_dup is the most basic and creates a duplicate of a communicator. It may seem odd that there would exist a function that only creates a copy, but this is very useful for applications which use libraries to perform specialized functions, such as mathematical libraries. In these kinds of applications, it's important that user codes and library codes do not interfere with each other. To avoid this, the first thing every application should do is to create a duplicate of MPI_COMM_WORLD, which will avoid the problem of other libraries also using MPI_COMM_WORLD. The libraries themselves should also make duplicates of MPI_COMM_WORLD to avoid the same problem.

Another function is MPI_Comm_create. At first glance, this function looks very similar to MPI_Comm_create_group. Its signature is almost identical:

MPI_Comm_create(
    MPI_Comm comm,
    MPI_Group group,
    MPI_Comm* newcomm)

The key difference however (besides the lack of the tag argument), is that MPI_Comm_create_group is only collective over the group of processes contained in group, where MPI_Comm_create is collective over every process in comm. This is an important distinction as the size of communicators grows very large. If trying to create a subset of MPI_COMM_WORLD when running with 1,000,000 processes, it's important to perform the operation with as few processes as possible as the collective becomes very expensive at large sizes.

There are other more advanced features of communicators that we do not cover here, such as the differences between inter-communicators and intra-communicators and other advanced communicator creation functions. These are only used in very specific kinds of applications which may be covered in a future tutorial.

Overview of groups

While MPI_Comm_split is the simplest way to create a new communicator, it isn't the only way to do so. There are more flexible ways to create communicators, but they use a new kind of MPI object, MPI_Group. Before going into lots of detail about groups, let's look a little more at what a communicator actually is. Internally, MPI has to keep up with (among other things) two major parts of a communicator, the context (or ID) that differentiates one communicator from another and the group of processes contained by the communicator. The context is what prevents an operation on one communicator from matching with a similar operation on another communicator. MPI keeps an ID for each communicator internally to prevent the mixups. The group is a little simpler to understand since it is just the set of all processes in the communicator. For MPI_COMM_WORLD, this is all of the processes that were started by mpiexec. For other communicators, the group will be different. In the example code above, the group is all of the processes which passed in the same color to MPI_Comm_split.

MPI uses these groups in the same way that set theory generally works. You don't have to be familiar with all of set theory to understand things, but it's helpful to know what two operations mean. Here, instead of referring to "sets", we'll use the term "groups" as it aplies to MPI. First, the union operation creates a new, (potentially) bigger set from two other sets. The new set includes all of the members of the first two sets (without duplicates). Second, the intersection operation creates a new, (potentially) smaller set from two other sets. The new set includes all of the members that are present in both of the original sets. You can see examples of both of these operations graphically below.

Group Operation Examples

In the first example, the union of the two groups {0, 1, 2, 3} and {2, 3, 4, 5} is {0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5} because each of those items appears in each group. In the second example, the intersection of the two groups {0, 1, 2, 3}, and {2, 3, 4, 5} is {2, 3} because only those items appear in each group.

Using MPI groups

Now that we understand the fundamentals of how groups work, let's see how they can be applied to MPI operations. In MPI, it's easy to get the group of processes in a communicator with the API call, MPI_Comm_group.

MPI_Comm_group(
    MPI_Comm comm,
    MPI_Group* group)

As mentioned above, a communicator contains a context, or ID, and a group. Calling MPI_Comm_group gets a reference to that group object. The group object works the same way as a communicator object except that you can't use it to communicate with other ranks (because it doesn't have that context attached). You can still get the rank and size for the group (MPI_Group_rank and MPI_Group_size, respectively). However, what you can do with groups that you can't do with communicators is use it to construct new groups locally. It's important to remember here the difference between a local operation and a remote one. A remote operation involves communication with other ranks where a local operation does not. Creating a new communicator is a remote operation because all processes need to decide on the same context and group, where creating a group is local because it isn't used for communication and therefore doesn't need to have the same context for each process. You can manipulate a group all you like without performing any communication at all.

Once you have a group or two, performing operations on them is straightforward. Getting the union looks like this:

MPI_Group_union(
    MPI_Group group1,
    MPI_Group group2,
    MPI_Group* newgroup)

And you can probably guess that the intersection looks like this:

MPI_Group_intersection(
    MPI_Group group1,
    MPI_Group group2,
    MPI_Group* newgroup)

In both cases, the operation is performed on group1 and group2 and the result is stored in newgroup.

There are many uses of groups in MPI. You can compare groups to see if they are the same, subtract one group from another, exclude specific ranks from a group, or use a group to translate the ranks of one group to another group. However, one of the recent additions to MPI that tends to be most useful is MPI_Comm_create_group. This is a function to create a new communicator, but instead of doing calculations on the fly to decide the makeup, like MPI_Comm_split, this function takes an MPI_Group object and creates a new communicator that has all of the same processes as the group.

MPI_Comm_create_group(
    MPI_Comm comm,
    MPI_Group group,
    int tag,
    MPI_Comm* newcomm)
)

Example of using groups

Let's look at a quick example of what using groups looks like. Here, we'll use another new function which allows you to pick specific ranks in a group and construct a new group containing only those ranks, MPI_Group_incl.

MPI_Group_incl(
    MPI_Group group,
    int n,
    const int ranks[],
    MPI_Group* newgroup)

With this function, newgroup contains the processes in group with ranks contained in ranks, which is of size n. Want to see how that works? Let's try creating a communicator which contains the prime ranks from MPI_COMM_WORLD.

// Get the rank and size in the original communicator
int world_rank, world_size;
MPI_Comm_rank(MPI_COMM_WORLD, &world_rank);
MPI_Comm_size(MPI_COMM_WORLD, &world_size);

// Get the group of processes in MPI_COMM_WORLD
MPI_Group world_group;
MPI_Comm_group(MPI_COMM_WORLD, &world_group);

int n = 7;
const int ranks[7] = {1, 2, 3, 5, 7, 11, 13};

// Construct a group containing all of the prime ranks in world_group
MPI_Group prime_group;
MPI_Group_incl(world_group, 7, ranks, &prime_group);

// Create a new communicator based on the group
MPI_Comm prime_comm;
MPI_Comm_create_group(MPI_COMM_WORLD, prime_group, 0, &prime_comm);

int prime_rank = -1, prime_size = -1;
// If this rank isn't in the new communicator, it will be
// MPI_COMM_NULL. Using MPI_COMM_NULL for MPI_Comm_rank or
// MPI_Comm_size is erroneous
if (MPI_COMM_NULL != prime_comm) {
    MPI_Comm_rank(prime_comm, &prime_rank);
    MPI_Comm_size(prime_comm, &prime_size);
}

printf("WORLD RANK/SIZE: %d/%d \t PRIME RANK/SIZE: %d/%d\n",
    world_rank, world_size, prime_rank, prime_size);

MPI_Group_free(&world_group);
MPI_Group_free(&prime_group);
MPI_Comm_free(&prime_comm);

In this example, we construct a communicator by selecting only the prime ranks in MPI_COMM_WORLD. This is done with MPI_Group_incl and results in prime_group. Next, we pass that group to MPI_Comm_create_group to create prime_comm. At the end, we have to be careful to not use prime_comm on processes which don't have it, therefore we check to ensure that the communicator is not MPI_COMM_NULL, which is returned from MPI_Comm_create_group on the ranks not included in ranks.

Want to contribute?

This site is hosted entirely on GitHub. This site is no longer being actively contributed to by the original author (Wes Kendall), but it was placed on GitHub in the hopes that others would write high-quality MPI tutorials. Click here for more information about how you can contribute.